today is monumental.

I woke up with a ear to ear smile this morning. First of all, I had one of the best nights of sleep since I’ve been here; I hit the hay early last night (12am) and didn’t wake up until about 10:30am. Second of all, for the first time EVER, I had dreams completely in Spanish. I’ve had dreams before where I would mumble Spanish phrases here and there or dreams where I would have short introductory conversations; “Hola, ¿cómo estas? ¿Cómo te llamas? ¿De dónde sos?” etc. But last night I dreamt that I was on vacation and I needed to go to the doctor for something. I walked into the clinic to find the nurse on duty really struggling to breathe; he was really distraught and couldn’t answer any of the questions I was asking him. When I finally got him to admit that something was wrong, he showed me a number to call for medical help. I made the call and (in Spanish) was able to communicate what his symptoms were, where we were and the fact that we needed help immediately.

I don’t remember the exact words or if there was more of a story line before of after my visit to the doctor’s office. But I am excited about that fact that I am dreaming in my second language – a sign, if not of proficiency, at least a sign of my love for this wonderful language in which I am so happily immersed.

2 thoughts on “today is monumental.

  1. Pingback: Dreaming in another language… |

Leave a Reply

