the nontraditional familia.

[the bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life. rarely do members of one family grow up under the same roof.]

i called my host mom tonight and reached that loca for the first time in months. it was so great to hear her voice and to remember all of the great times (and the not so great times) we spent together. i will forever love that lady, and hope i will be back in november to see her. she is my family and the only family that i had for the 5 months i spent in mendoza. and no matter how long its been since we’ve talked, she will still be  family. forever. the excitement she shows when she asks about my life, and they joy she screams as i ask her how she and her friends are doing is almost enough to make me cry. ‘aye bonita..’ she says as i tell her about my mom’s new job, my dad’s travels to germany, and my sister who is about to start school. it brings me right back. and reminds me, te quiero, susy.

Leave a Reply

