daily prompt: morton’s fork.

i’m trying to get back into the habit of writing. i don’t really care if anyone reads what i write. blogging is just a good excuse for me to take time for myself. to think and to reflect.

which leads me to today’s daily prompt: morton’s fork. answer this: if you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? why?

reading blogs is refreshing – it is a good source of inspiration, new recipes, beautiful photos and stories from the lives of (sometimes) strangers. but writing, for me, is more refreshing. and going back and reading my own blogs is even better. on days that i miss argentina i go back and read about the good days, the bad days, my hysterical with the locals, and my language successes and failures. on my wine blog, i take my own recommendations and share them with others in my life (my roommate dubbed me a wine whisperer this week – what a compliment). studying accounting i don’t get too many chances to write (at least not anything beyond the frequent analysis of the accounting standards codification) so blogging is refreshing and has helped me keep my writing skills in check

how did i even get started writing? my dad started a blog for our family almost nine years when we first moved to the philippines (and when blogging was just an up and coming trend). i LOVE looking back and reminiscing on all of the things that we did in that wonderful country, all of the people that we met, and all of the travelling we were able to do during our time in asia. he’s done a good job keeping the blog rolling since we moved back to the US. i think there is something to be said about writing about your own experiences and having the ability to look back as time passes. this blog is like a journal. something i’ve for some reason never really been able to keep on paper.

selfish, perhaps. BUT isn’t self-reflection a must? i can’t wait to read my own blog 10 years from now. i’ll probably be laughing, but i’m okay with that.

—on a completely unrelated note, ed sheeran’s album + is playing in the background as i write. it is wonderfully beautiful, peacefully rejuvenating and the perfect album for winter nights on the couch. here’s my favorite – a team – check it out, ya’ll.

4 thoughts on “daily prompt: morton’s fork.

  1. Pingback: Buridan’s Ass: When Hobson’s Choice Meets Morton’s Fork… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. I agree with you but not on the selfish way. Agree again on the reflection. I think is more like a “dear diary”, “notes to file” , “memoire of …” Glad you pick up the “pen” again. Would love to see (read) what your dad has got to the P.I. since I have been back (home) to PI 35 years ago.

    • Thank you for the comment. I think you are right. This blog is more of a journal/diary than anything. Take a look at our blog- we lived there from 2004 to 2006. It was a wonderful place; beautiful people, places, and food. My dad still travels there frequently so we get to hear updates of what has changed and what is still the same in the area we lived.

Leave a Reply

