oh, the possibilities.

a couple friends and i were talking just last night about how much we would love to get up and leave. to quit work, to quit school, and to simply go exploring. to see some of what we have not seen in this world. to meet people. to hear stories. [insert church sermon from a couple of weeks ago here]. to learn. to be rejuvenated. how much would we have to save in order to do that? a year’s worth of our salary? nothing at all. could we live like craigslist joe? could we find couches to crash on, writing, blogging, cooking, serving gigs along the way? it is hard for me to say if i would get up and go tomorrow. no plans? a little scary. no money? scary. a world full of people to meet, places to see, and things to do? absolutely exciting.

so today’s daily post was the perfect opportunity for me to think about what i would do if the following miraculously happened:

you wake up tomorrow morning to find all your plans have been cancelled for the next seven days and $10,000 on your dresser. tell us about your week.

1. pack my camera 2. bring my gratitude journal. purchase a few more journals for the trip. 3. go to the airport 4. buy a ticket to somewhere in latin america. most likely argentina. because i know people there. and if i started my trip in patagonia, i could make my way north during the course of the next 7 days. 5. arrive in argentina. get to patagonia. take pictures. lots of them. 6. make my way towards mendoza. give susy a big hug and tell her how much i truly do care about her. reflect on our time together and do everything i possibly can to take advantage of the little time i’ll have with her during this trip. 7. swing over to buenos aires and up through uruguay. at least cross the border into brazil (high high high on my bucket list) 8. fly across the continent to chile. 9. take a train to peru. hike machu picchu. 10. continue up the coast of latin america into central america. 11.  make a long pit stop in costa rica. breathe in the life there. contemplate never coming back. 12. find a flight to europe because i hope to god i won’t have spent my $10,000 yet. 13. eat pizza in rome. lay on the beach in france. explore portugal. stay on a strangers couch in  madrid. 14. take a train east. get off every once in a while. 15. be totally content with my life and thankful for this opportunity. 16. find a city i really like. sit down in coffee shops and start a book. about anything. about nothing. just start writing.

17&beyond. decide to stay overseas, to never stop meeting people, to never stop eating good food or drinking good wine.

who wants to join me?

6 thoughts on “oh, the possibilities.

  1. Pingback: A Fool And His Money… | The Jittery Goat

  2. I love that you have a gratitude journal! Have you read Simple Abundance? That’s what I’m reading this year as part of my blogging experience…great post about being thankful.

    • Yes, I do have a gratitude journal. I is sometimes hard making it a habit, but I usually try to write down a few things each night before bed. Its been the best thing I’ve consistently done in a long time. My favorite things in my journal are usually the unexpected things that make each day so new and exciting! Ill have to pick up Simple Abundance, it sounds like something we could all use help with! Glad you enjoyed the post!

      Cheers!

    • Yes, I do have a gratitude journal. I is sometimes hard making it a habit, but I usually try to write down a few things each night before bed. Its been the best thing I’ve consistently done in a long time. My favorite things in my journal are usually the unexpected things that make each day so new and exciting! Ill have to pick up Simple Abundance, it sounds like something we could all use help with! Glad you enjoyed the post!

  3. Pingback: One Week And Ten Kay – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Seven Days | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

